Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Howdy
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Welcome to the DrumHead forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site. We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Howdy

Howdy 2 years, 5 months ago #71

Howdy! I just started playing drums on March 27 of this year. I plucked around on guitar since I was 14, but I never really enjoyed it (and therefore never practiced enough to get good) much. On the advice of a buddy of mine who has a recording studio in the Phoenix area, I took up drumming. Primo recommendation. I started drumming and suddenly my love of music and my need to play music all came together. My world is complete now that drumming is a part of it. It feels so natural.

I'm a tumbleweed, so I've lived in several places over the course of my life, but I was last in Texas before moving to Chicago a couple of years ago.

After 4 months on the drums, I was ready to commit to buying a kit. I'm playing a Roland V-Drums TD-4KP kit with a snare upgraded to a PDX-8, and a Pearl Eliminator P2000C pedal. At home, I plug in my Behringer HPX2000 headphones, but when I leave the house, I have a KAT KA1 monitor with me.

With 6 months of playing under my belt, I took part in my music shop's student show at a local venue. Having never played in front of an audience before (and this also being my first experience of playing with others), I was really anxious and discovered that More Nerves = Faster Tempo. Oops. Despite my wrecked nerves my first time out, I really enjoy drumming and look forward to getting better and playing with more folks.
Last Edit: 2 years, 5 months ago by Anneli Kunze.

Re: Howdy 1 year, 10 months ago #83

Welcome to the forum.

Re: Howdy 1 year, 2 months ago #95

Howdy, Anneli
My name's Bill, and I've been playing drums for many many years, and it's great to hear your story and enthusiasm!